August 22, 2008 at 4:14 pm (Blogging, Culture, Guide, Nature, Photo, Photography, Photos, Pictures, Slovenia, Travel, Trip, Vacation)

The Slovenian head of state is the president, who is elected by popular vote every five years. The executive branch is headed by the prime minister and the council of ministers or cabinet, who are elected by the parliament.

The bicameral Parliament of Slovenia consists of the National Assembly (Državni zbor), and the National Council (Državni svet). The National Assembly has ninety members, 88 of which are elected by all the citizens in a system of proportional representation, while two are elected by the autochthonous Hungarian and Italian minorities. The National Council has forty members, appointed to represent social, economic, professional and local interest groups. Parliamentary elections are held every four years.


Permalink Leave a Comment